Managing events

When someone requests an event with you, it will appear in your events list.

From this page, you can sort, filter, and search your events.

You'll see the following event statuses:
  • Requested: When someone has requested a time for the future, but you haven't taken any action yet.
  • Approved: When you approved an event, but it hasn't happened yet.
  • Declined: When an event was declined.
  • Canceled: When an event was canceled.
  • Elapsed: When the time for the event has passed.
You can also take the following actions for specific events:
  • View: view an individual page for the event from which you can take similar actions.
  • Approve: this will open a modal with additional actions that need to be taken to approve the event.
  • Decline: this will open a modal with additional actions that need to be taken to decline the event.
  • Reschedule: : this will open a modal with additional actions that need to be taken to reschedule the event.
  • Cancel: this will open a modal with additional actions that need to be taken to cancel the event. You'll only see this action if you already approved the event.
  • Delete: this will open a modal asking you to confirm that you want to delete the event. If it was already accepted by you, it will also cancel the event.
Viewing an event

When you view an event, you'll be taken to an individual page for that event. If the event is still requested, you'll be able to take the next actions from this page.

Approve, decline, reschedule, and cancel will open the same modals that appear when you take these actions from the list view.

Approve an event

When you click to approve an event, a modal will appear. Inside this modal, you'll see a list of all your connected calendars. Whether or not you have availability for the requested time in each calendar will show in the column on the right. This comes in handy if you are scheduling events on behalf of someone else.

Select the radio button next to the calendar you want to add the event to.

Next, you have the option to customize the email that gets sent to the person who requested the time. By default, this email will use the content you customized on the email setup page for the scheduler. However, if there are some things you want to personalize for this specific email, you can make those changes here. If you don't want to customize anything about the email and just want to use what you've already set up, select No.

You can always view a preview of the email by clicking View Preview. This will also replace the merge variables with the information related to the event you're approving.

When you're ready to approve, click Approve. The email will be immediately sent to the requester and the event will be added to your calendar application.

IMPORTANT: At this time, you should go to your calendar application to modify the calendar file and add anyone (including the requester) that needs to be invited.

Decline an event

When you click to decline an event, a modal will appear. Inside this modal, you're able to customize the email before it's sent to the person who requested the time with you. This is a good opportunity to let the other person know why you're declining the event and what the next steps will be.

By default, this email will use the content you customized on the email setup page for the scheduler. If you don't want to customize anything about the email and just want to use what you've already set up, select No.

When you click Decline, the email will be sent immediately and the event will be marked as declined in Spark Hire.

Reschedule an event

If you need to reschedule the event and want the person who requested the event with you to select a different time, use the reschedule action. This will open a modal that will let you customize the email before it's sent to the requester. 

By default, this email will use the content you customized on the email setup page for the scheduler. However, if there are some things you want to personalize for this specific email, you can make those changes here. If you don't want to customize anything about the email and just want to use what you've already set up, select No.

When you click Reschedule, the email will be sent immediately and the event will be marked as canceled in Spark Hire.

Within the email, the recipient will be able to click a link that will take them to your scheduling page so they can request a different time for the event.

Cancel an event

When you cancel an event, the person who requested it with you will receive an email about it being canceled, but won't be presented with an option to reschedule.

Therefore, if you want cancel and reschedule, use the reschedule action.

When you click to cancel an event, a modal will appear. Inside this modal, you're able to customize the email before it's sent to the person who requested the time with you. This is a good opportunity to let the other person know why you're canceling the event and what the next steps will be.

By default, this email will use the content you customized on the email setup page for the scheduler. If you don't want to customize anything about the email and just want to use what you've already set up, select No.

When you click Cancel, the email will be sent immediately and the event will be marked as canceled in Spark Hire.

Since this event was already added to your calendar application as an approved event, the event in your calendar will also be canceled.

Delete an event

Deleting an event is pretty straightforward. It's a good way to declutter irrelevant/out-dated events from your list view. However, keep in mind that if you delete an event that was approved and hasn't elapsed, the event will get canceled and the cancelation email will be sent to the person who you booked that event with.

Feedback and Knowledge Base